European Science Writer of the Year: Give us your nominations!

Christine D'Anna-Huber
Postuler avant le 10.02.2018

The European Science Writer of the Year Award 2018 is now open to nominations: Each European science journalism association can put forward their candidate for the Award (one nominee per association). Entries will be judged by a specially appointed European judging panel.

We are asking our members to give us as hand in finding SASJ’s nominee. Have you read an excellent article or reportage lately deserving of the profession’s recognition? We would like to hear about it! All we need is an email with the writer’s name and the title(s) of (some of) his/her article(s) by February 10. The ASJS board will examine all submissions and select the candidate to run for Switzerland.

To be nominated, a writer must have been working in Switzerland in 2017 (1 January – 31 December) and supporting articles must have been published during the same time. The winner of the European Science Writer of the Year Award will receive a cash prize of £600 and will be invited to attend the ABSW Science Writers’ Awards ceremony to be held in London in May 2018. Funds are available to cover the costs of attending the conference and ceremony.

Background to the Award:
The ABSW is co-ordinating the ‘European Science Writer of the Year Award’ for the fourth year. This initiative has been made possible by support from Johnson & Johnson Innovation. The award is intended to celebrate the work of a journalist or writer who promotes excellence and creativity in science, engineering, technology and mathematics (STEM) journalism and writing. They will be recognised for entertaining and informing audiences, for inspiring new generations of journalists and writers, and for innovation in their main area of expertise. The award is limited to those who primarily work with the written word, be it features, news, or blogs, but not books. Their work may appear in print, online or both.



Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *